Easy lifehacks

What are the political regions in Austria called?

What are the political regions in Austria called?

In accordance with Article 2 of the Federal Constitution Act, Austria is a federation of the following independent provinces: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna.

What are the geographical features of Austria?

Austria is a small, predominantly mountainous country located in south-central Europe. It is twice the size of Switzerland and slightly smaller than the State of Maine. Most of the country is Alpine or sub-Alpine, that have heavily wooded mountains and hills cut by valleys of fast-flowing rivers.

Who does Austria share a border with?

Austria is a landlocked country of approximately 8.95 million inhabitants in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west.

What is the capital city of Austria?


Vienna, German Wien, Czech Videň, Hungarian Bécs, city and Bundesland (federal state), the capital of Austria. Of the country’s nine states, Vienna is the smallest in area but the largest in population.

What type of government does Vienna Austria have?

Austria is a democratic republic. The territory of the Federal Republic consists of nine federal states or provinces (Bundesland, Land; plural: Bundesländer, Länder). Vienna is the federal capital and the seat of the supreme federal authorities.

What type of government is in Austria?

Federal republicParliamentary republic
Austrian politics takes place within the constitutional framework of a federal parliamentary republic, with a President (Bundespräsident) serving as head of state and a Chancellor (Bundeskanzler) as head of government. Governments, both local and federal, exercise executive power.

Did Austria ever have a coastline?

Despite Austria having a lengthy coastline along the Adriatic Sea, the major ports it possessed along its main coastline were isolated from Vienna by the large Austrian Alps. Furthermore, there were no major rivers linking Austria’s Adriatic ports to the interior of the country.

Does Austria have a coastline?

Austria is a small, predominantly mountainous country in Central Europe, approximately between Germany, Italy and Hungary. It has a total area of 83,871 square kilometres (32,383 sq mi), about twice the size of Switzerland….

Geography of Austria
Area Ranked 114th 83,879 km2 (32,385 mi2)
Coastline 0 km (0 mi; landlocked)

Is Vienna a socialist country?

Vienna was socialist, anti-clerical, and, as a municipality, fairly rich. The hinterland was poor, backward, conservative, Roman Catholic, and jealous of Vienna’s higher standard of living.”

Author Image
Ruth Doyle