How many credits do you need for Act 48?
How many credits do you need for Act 48?
Once an educator with an inactive certification has met the Act 48 requirements (i.e. the equivalent of 180 hours of continuing professional education or six collegiate credits) for the original Act 48 five-year period, the Teacher Certification System will automatically return that certificate to active status and …
How do you get Act 48 credits in PA?
Educators must earn six credits of collegiate study; or six credits of PDE-approved continuing professional education courses; or 180 hours of continuing professional education programs, activities or learning experiences through a PDE approved provider; or any combination of the above every five years to maintain …
How do I see how many ACT 48 hours I have?
Visit the Professional Education Record Management System (PERMS) where you can find/review:
- Your Professional Personnel ID and continuing education progress.
- Current course offerings.
- Approved providers.
How does Act 48 work?
Every five calendar years, starting from the issuance of professional certificate(s), Act 48 requires all public school educators to complete six credits of collegiate study, six credits of PDE-approved courses, 180 hours of continuing education courses, programs, or activities by an approved provider, or a combination …
How many ACT 48 credits do I need in PA?
All educators holding Pennsylvania public school certification must earn 180 Act 48 hours (approved professional development hours) every five years to remain in active status. The five-year period begins on the day the educator’s initial instructional certificate is issued.
How many ACT 48 hours is 3 credits?
Each Advancement Courses credit is approved for 30 continuing education hours, meaning one 3 credit course is equal to 90 Act 48 hours.
How do I get my free ACT 48 hours in PA?
The Pennsylvania Department of Education has partnered with Teachscape to provide online, on demand professional development regarding the Danielson Framework for teaching. Educators can receive Act 48 credit by participating in the Teachscape modules.
How long is a PA teaching certificate valid?
six
Instructional and Educational Specialist certificates are “valid” for six (6) years of service teaching in the area of the certificate. If an educator does not complete the requirements for conversion from Level I to Level II within the six (6) years, the certificate will “lapse” and become invalid for teaching.
Can I teach secondary with a primary degree?
Can primary teachers teach secondary? Technically, yes, so long as you have Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) you can apply to teach at secondary level. As secondary school teaching is more focused on particular subjects you need a good knowledge of the subject you wish to teach.
What is Pennsylvania Act 48?
Act 48 Credit. Act 48: Act 48 is for teachers with a current teacher certification in Pennsylvania. The state of Pennsylvania has established that teachers either need to work on an advanced degree or they can receive Act 48 credit through approved workshops and professional development sessions.
How do I get a copy of my Pennsylvania teaching certificate?
Although a fee is involved, securing a duplicate copy of your teaching certificate is a relatively straightforward process. Access the Pennsylvania Department of Education website at www.pde.state.pa.us. Click on “Certifications” on the left-hand side of the page. This link will take you to a number of options regarding teaching certificates.
What is the Pennsylvania Department of Education?
The Pennsylvania Department of Education is the executive department of the state charged with publicly funded preschool, K-12 and adult educational budgeting, management and guidelines. As the state education agency, its activities are directed by the governor appointed Pennsylvania ‘s Secretary of Education.